Tour News

The Tour d'Azerbaidjan organisation is pleased to announce that a strong field of six Pro Continental team and 17 Continental teams will line up at this year's tour, starting on 3 May in Azerbaijan's capital, Baku.
Having recently announced the launch of the 2017 dates for the Tour d'Azerbaidjan, the organisation would like to take this opportunity to invite a selection of the media to the race. Starting on May 3 and running until May 7, the race gives you, the media, plenty of opportunity to realise the various angles needed to create news and stories, capturing the race and the country itself.
The Cycling Federation of Azerbaijan is proud to announce that the UCI 2.1 Tour d’Azerbaidjan stage race returns again for its sixth edition in 2017, with the five-day race taking place between 3 and 7 May 2017, starting and finishing in the Azeri capital, Baku.
ViewEditTrackTranslateDevel Tour d’Azerbaïdjan - the best competition of 2016 Printer-friendly version As the best competition ever the "Tour d'Azerbaidjn 2016" was awarded with the "Zafar" prize issued by the Association of Azerbaijan Sport Journalists (ASJA), Ministry of Youth and Sports (MOYS) and Sportsman magazine.


The people of Azerbaijan with the most ancient statehood traditions have the statehood history extending 5000 years. The ancient state formations existed in the territory of Azerbaijan in the past millenia BC played a very important role in the improvement of state governance culture, economic-cultural, ethnic-political history, as well as led to the formation of uniform nation.

The territory of Azerbaijan is rich with archeological monuments evidently proving that Azerbiajan is one of the most ancient human settlements in the world. Azykh, Taghs, Damjili, Dashsalahli, Qazma (Nakhchivan) caves, as well as archeological findings discovered in other historical monuments, including remains of lower jaw bone of the Early Man - Azikh Man (Azikhantrop) lived 300-400 thousand years ago in the Age of Asheul includes Azerbaijan in the earliest human inhabitation and formation areas. Due to these rare discoveries, the territory of Azerbaijan has been included in the map of Europe’s Oldest Inhabitants. Late 1st millennium BC and early 1st millennium A.C. mighty states such as Manna, Skith kingdom, Atropatena and Albania existed in the territory of Azerbaijan. These ancient states in Azerbaijan played an essential role in further enhancement of state governance culture, economic-cultural, ethnic-political history, as well as in the formation of uniform nation.

All the histrocial lands of Azerbaijan were concentrated within two local states called Atropatena and Albania. The borders of Albania located in the north of the country covered the territories from the Greater Caucasus Mountains, to the River Araz in the south including the south of Daghistan (Derbend with adjacent regions), from the Goycha lake basin and upper Qabyrry (Iori) and Qanykh (Alazan) rivers in the west to the Caspian Sea in the east. Gabala and later Barda had become the capital of this mighty state of Azerbaijan. The major turning point in the history of Far and Middle East started in mid 11th century. The Great Saljuk Empire was established covering wide area from Central Asia to Mediterranian Sea shores, and from Derbent passage to the shores of Persian Gulf. Azerbaijan was included into the next Oghuz Turk state, i.e. the Great Seljuk Empire. After the dissolution of the Saljuk Empire, Shirvanshahs and Eldenizds states played important role in stregthening and further enhancement of the statehood traditions of Azerbaijani people. Azerbaijan’s statehood culture further progressed between 15th and 18th centuries and later.

On 28th May in 1918, the first democratic republic in the East - Azerbaijan Democtractic Republic was established in North Azerbaijan. Meanwhile, the first independent and democratic State of Azadistan ("The Land of Azadistan") was established in South Azerbaijan in 1920. People’s Republic of Azerbaijan collapsed due to the military aggression of the Soviet Russia. Hence, the independent statehood of Azerbaijan was brought to an end in North Azerbaijan.

On 28th of April in 1920, the establishment of the Soviet Socialist Republic of Azerbaijan (Azerbaijan SSR) in the territory of the People’s Republic of Azerbaijan was declared. Bolshevik regime lasted 70 years in Azerbaijan. In 1991 after the collapse of the Soviet Empire Azerbaijan regained its independence. On 2 March 1992, Azerbaijan became a member of the United Nations. The first democratic consititution of the independent Azerbaijan Republic was adopted on 12 November 1995. Azerbaijan as a member of the international organizations as Council of Europe, Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), Organization of Islamic Conference (OIC), Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) cooperates with EU, NATO and other international organizations and has become the leading country in the region. The Republic of Azerbaijan has a reputation of a democratic, legal, secular state and become an open country for all states of the world.

Photos total: 8